GENERAL HEALTH

What is Oil Pulling?

Oil Pulling.jpg

Teeth whitening is not cheap at all, hence why I keep on researching for natural or cheap home remedies. A friend of mine suggested for me to try swishing the coconut oil for 20 minutes to whiten the teeth. I tried searching it online, and apparently it is called oil pulling.

What is oil pulling?

It is a process where you will swish your mouth for 20 minutes with coconut oil or other kinds of oil such as sesame oil or sunflower oil. For oral health especially, coconut oil is the most preferred one. Oil pulling is a traditional way of pulling away the dirt and bacteria in the mouth by swishing oil. It is practiced in India during the old times. Although it is now practiced by several people around the globe, and there are a lot of people claiming it’s benefits. There is still no scientific evidences as to whether it is effective or not. Some studies claims that it is not only great for overall oral health, but it could actually remove other toxins in our system, ease headache and rheumatism. In my experience, I can only attest to the way it improved my oral health. I don’t have the whitest teeth because of the different teas I drink and probably because of what I eat too. But ever since I started this method, I can absolutely feel that my mouth is so clean after swishing it with coconut oil and a few shades whiter too.

How to Oil Pull?

  • Brush your teeth the usual way
  • take 2 tbsp of extra virgin coconut oil, if you are looking for a particular one, I have a review about the particular product I use for oil pulling. It is theĀ Prosource extra virgin coconut oil. But it is available only in the Philippines
  • Swish it for 20 minutes
  • Make sure that you will spit it outside your house not on your sink because it is oil and it might cause clogging. Be careful not to swallow it. I don’t think it’s nice to swallow the dirt from you mouth.
  • Gargle some warm water to rinse your mouth. I normally still brush my teeth without toothpaste just to remove that greasy feel around my mouth.

Every time I do the oil pulling method, I always feel like my teeth are squeaky clean. I also noticed that my plaques are lessened. I don’t necessarily do it everyday, because sometimes I’m just lazy. But I don’t think you will have a problem if you oil pull everyday.

  • Disclaimer: Make sure to ask your physician before you try this method. If you have allergy with coconut/coconut oil, this is not advisable for you.

In general, oil pulling has been effective to many in terms of cleansing the mouth and whitening the teeth. I have been doing this for a year now, and I have nothing but positive words about it.Try oil pulling now, to have a whiter shade of teeth every time you do it!

 

Leave a Reply

